Posted in Educational Technology

Why Use Infographics in Education?

8448339735_e6626c28ff_b

If I know anything about teaching, I know that we all try to find new ways to engage our students. One tech tool that I’ve been playing around with lately is the infographic– a visual image such as a chart or diagram used to represent information or data. Infographics are a great tool to use to help engage students. They are fun, interesting, colorful, and informative. What more could you ask for!?

While playing around with different infographic creators like Easel.lyPiktochart, and Infogr.am, I realized that I would use each of these sites for different tasks. Since all three sites provide free options, it’s worth mixing and matching depending on my current need.

It was fun to experiment to try to see which one I liked best, but I can’t choose just one! I provided examples and pros/cons lists below to share about my experiences. Also, don’t forget to look into some others that aren’t mentioned in this blog such as: Canva, Visme, and Venngage.

1. Easel.ly

Easel.ly is a simple web tool that empowers anyone to create and share powerful visuals. Easel.ly makes it possible for anyone to design their own custom infographic in minutes. I think this is the most visually appealing of all the infographic creators. I will probably use this site the most for presentations with students and professional development for teachers and staff.

capture

  • Pros and Cons:
    • Free (charge for upgrades)
    • Millions of templates to use and share
    • Sort templates by category or search for keywords
    • Graphics available
    • Fun font choices
    • Downloadable and shareable in different formats

socialmediachanges

2. Piktochart

Piktochart is a web-based infographic application which allows users without intensive experience as graphic designers to easily create professional-grade infographics using themed templates.capture

  • Pros and Cons:
    • Free (charge for upgrades)
    • Easy to use
    • Over 200 infographic templates
    • No sharing community
    • Import data or survey results from survey tools
    • Has video embed capabilities
    • Many templates are only available with the paid versions

LHSLIB2016-2017.png

3. Infogr.am

Infogr.am is a web-based data visualization and infographic application which allow users to create charts and infographics. Although it is not the most visually elaborate infographic, it is definitely the platform to use if you’re dealing with a lot of complex data.

capture

  • Pros and Cons:
    • Free (charge for upgrades)
    • Ability to insert videos and images
    • Connect graphs and charts to live data sources like Google Sheets
    • Limited choices on font and style
    • Shareable online
    • Over 35 charts and 200 maps
    • Can’t change the font size or style
  • Infogr.am Example

Author:

Book Lover. Dog-Mom. Traveler. Teacher. Wife. Wannabe Chef. Librarian.

11 thoughts on “Why Use Infographics in Education?

  1. Wow, you created some very nice infographics! I am still trying to get familiar with how to use all the different tools.
    Denisse Ochoa

    Like

  2. I love that you used the infograph software to create a chart with information about your library! You’re right, infographics don’t always have to be just numbers and statistics. Here, you used an eye-catching visual to dispense information about your library. That’s a terrific tool to share information with students and teachers!

    Like

  3. Your review of the three infographic sites was very through and your infographics were eye catching and informative. Great job.

    Like

  4. I love your infographic about the library circulation. I had the same idea! If for anything to keep us at the librarians on top of what is happening in our own library—by the data!

    Like

  5. I also thought Easel.ly was the most visually appealing. Students will certainly be engaged when creating their own infographics at this site. I am looking forward to creating more infographics with Easel.ly and sharing with others.

    Like

  6. WOW!! I love your blog! And you infographics. I have been meaning to make an infographic for my first semester data from my library. I think I’ll use yours as a starting point.

    I think some people are just made to write blogs- and you are definitely one of them. 🙂

    Like

  7. Great blog on Infographics! Very informative and helpful information. I found it similar to text boxes in Word and Publisher, but creating an information piece on one of these Web Apps creates a much more polished and finished look of presenting information.
    Cynthia Burvato

    Like

Leave a Reply

